One online presence or many?

I tend to always use a different username for all of my endeavours online.   For the past two years I’ve kept the same one, SeeGreen, on most of the sites where I write and also with most of my social networking.  My name, Samantha is always taken, and I just can’t think of anything clever or fun to use instead, so SeeGreen has kind of stuck.

I started using it at Squidoo when I didn’t want to use my real name.  The “see” are my initials while I chose “green” because I had planned writing on Green topics, plus it is my favourite colour.

I’ve been using this name all over the web, twitter, tagfoot, digg etc. But I have now begun using Samantha where I can.  I’m trying to avoid putting numbers behind my name and using other words or just “e” which is what I have done on this blog.

Finding a username that fits can be hard.

I have so many likes and interests so using something specifically related to one interest just wouldn’t work.  And of course my last name is so long that it doesn’t usually fit into the character max requirements, not that I really want to use my last name.

So I may start changing a few names, or I may not.  I just don’t know.

I do know that I am using my name more often, and I am now comfortable with that.

Leave a Reply

